Swimbait Rigs [Archive] - AZBZ Forums

: Swimbait Rigs

JDBassman
November 14th, 2003, 09:36 AM
Okay guys, here goes....I have started fishin the swim baits as of last year. Had little to no success..only one 7 lber up in Boulder Creek from my float tube. Not bad considering, but the fact that I had gone out multiple times and that was the ONLY fish I caught on a lure the size of my forearm, I think somethin is wrong. My main concern is this: What type of rod, reel, line setup would be best suited for throwing these baits? How are they casted effectively? Underhand pitching to try and delicately lay them on the water? Overhand where you snap your pole on the backcast and the lure does a cannonball splash? Im totally new at this whole swimbait thing. Funny thing is, I tried over the summer on the rim to catch a few gay bass the size of the lure im throwing now. Ironic. Anyways...any input from some seasoned veterans of swimbait presentation and rig setup help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!!!

waterdog
November 14th, 2003, 09:48 AM
Read about them in latest issue of Basswest USA.
basswest.com

jasonR
November 14th, 2003, 10:21 AM
BASSWEST has a good article! Tackletour.com has a nice daiwa rod for like 50 bucks for the big baits, check it out.

Crankbaiter
November 15th, 2003, 12:03 PM
Hey where can you get BassWest. Do I have to go to liars courner or can I just get it at Wallmart?
Thanks

November 15th, 2003, 12:20 PM
waterdog willies west has them.

Delw

November 15th, 2003, 08:42 PM
Swimbait Basics