Arizona Fishing Forums on AZBZ banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got drawn for mule deer in 23 this year i am new to hunting and was wondering if i am allowed to use my bow for the hunt? It might be a dumb question but i would just love to use my bow for my first deer!

·
Registered
846 Posts
Yes yo are allowed but!!!! Everone else will be using centerfire rifles and possibly muzzelloaders, so after opening morning the deer will be skittish. Az has some nice archery seasons, 3 weeks Aug/Sept, and mid Dec/Jan. If you don't take one with rifle you can still hunt the December hunt with bow, just buy an over the counter archery tag. Not trying to discouarage you about bow it can be done, but your odds are better with a centerfire rifle. I did'nt hunt the Aug/Sept season as I got my first choice for rifle. If I don't get one I'll be hunting the December hunt with bow for sure.

·
Registered
1,255 Posts
I would take both. You can start out with the bow and if it seems like you are having a tough time switch to the rifle.

·
Registered
106 Posts
unit 23

Why, would you want to use a bow ,on a rifle hunt ? you can shoot 300 yards vs. 50 yards with a bow. I would shoot a rifle if this is the first time hunting unit 23.Glass the area hard, good bucks in there. and will be very hard stalking within bow range in nov. hunt the canyons your shots can range from 200-450yard shots I would go with Rifle. good luck on the hunt.

·
Registered
990 Posts
i am takin my bow as well as my rifel. i am hunting unit 33 ( MT lemmon area) you are right about the deer being skittish. My plan is, being i really want a deer with my bow, up high around the buildings and homes up there i will try to take one with my bow. The deer really seem to be up higher so thats what i wanna try first. If it doesnt go how i planned, the 270 will be with me. Good luck man and have a blast.

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·