Arizona Fishing Forums on AZBZ banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
997 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In the couple years of reading fishing sites, I don't think I've ever seen a post about flashers.
Is there an advantage to having a flasher instead of a graph? I've only seen one flasher doing its thing and saw it read the depth and water temp. I didn't see it marking fish.
Does anyone have one and know how to use it? Do you like it or do you wish you had a graph instead?
Thanks.

·
Registered
6,847 Posts
I didnt know that you had a FLASHER :wink: :wink:

·
Registered
97 Posts
My 90 Ranger has one, I guess from the factory. Iv'e heard from the old timers they are good for finding shad but what's the use? :? If I run the flasher it tweaks the signal on my other finder on the dash. May as well use the modern finder that I'm still learning to read. :? Course now I need to fix my crunched transponder. :oops: That rocky ridge just came out of no where! :oops:

G

·
I have one in my boat but really do not use it.they say it marks fish but I never figured out how to do it.

ned02

·
Registered
114 Posts
Flashers are nice because they are instant feed back while a graph has a slight delay when it comes to reading the depth or fish. Fish show up on a flasher as a thin red "blip" between the bottom lines and the surface clutter. Really good for vertical fishing if you have one on the bow. On my old boat I had an in dash flasher and a humin bird graph on the console. I would cruise the lake using the graph and look for structure or fish in deep water and when I would find something I would switch to the flasher so I could place my marker exactly on top of my target. Of coarse you can always adjust your trasnducer to make targets appear when you are right over them making a flasher obsolite but I still find them to be a useful piece of equipment.

-Dave King

·
Registered
114 Posts